Julep Maven August Box

Hello everyone! Today I did an epic swatch-fest that’s been months in the making.  I have tons of new posts ready to go, so expect to see more activity here within the next week.  Tonight I want to share the Julep Maven August Box with you guys.  Warning: This post is picture-heavy!

The August Maven box features the Garden Party Collection.  I decided to upgrade my box for this month and get the whole collection because I loved every single color.

Inside the August Maven box

Inside the August Maven box

Inside the box with the polishes unwrapped

Inside the box with the polishes unwrapped

I absolutely love Julep’s packaging.  They really make their Maven boxes look spectacular.

Inside the box for August, I received 9 nail colors, the Moisture Mask Trio and Double Step, a moisturizer/friction stick for feet.  Julep also included some Forget Me Not seeds which I’ll be planting soon!

Before we get to the color swatches, I want to talk about Double Step.

Double Step

Double Step

This product is a moisturizing treatment and friction stick for feet.  You apply it to prevent blisters.  The product goes on smooth and has a pleasant minty smell.  I haven’t really noticed much difference in my feet since I’ve started using it, but my feet don’t usually get blisters anyway.  I’ll continue using it because I like to keep my heels moisturized so they don’t become cracked and dry.

The Moisture Mask Trio was the other beauty product included in my upgrade box this month.

Moisture Mask Trio

Moisture Mask Trio

I haven’t had an opportunity to use these yet, but I’ll keep you guys posted on the results once I do.

Okay, now on to the swatches.  I know this is what everyone has been anxiously waiting for!  Here’s a group shot.  Don’t they all look lovely?

Garden Party Collection Polishes

Garden Party Collection Polishes

First up is Nellie, a pink fuschia creme.  Nellie is a one-coater and the formula is fabulous.  No streaks here.

Nellie

Nellie

Nellie

Nellie

Next we have Veronica, a modern mauve creme (as described by Julep).  I would call this color more of a dusty salmon.  Veronica is also a one-coater and has a streak-free finish.  This would be a good color for a job interview or similar occasion.

Veronica

Veronica

Veronica

Veronica

Then we have Lois, a dusty rose frost.  Lois is gorgeous, but I found the formula to be a little thick.  Perhaps this has something to do with a frost also being a one-coater? I’m amazed that I got excellent coverage with just one coat of this polish.  Lois is super shiny and is great for someone who likes neutrals but wants a little extra flair.

Lois

Lois

Lois

Lois

And then there’s Marjorie, a citrus orange frost.  I did have to use two coats of Marjorie to get the coverage I wanted.  This color doesn’t look great with my skin tone and I was really hoping it would change my opinion on the color orange because it looked so beautiful online.  Unfortunately, I don’t love Marjorie and I’d be willing to part with it.

Marjorie

Marjorie

Marjorie

Marjorie

Next is Bea, a lemonade creme.  I was scared of Bea because I really, really wanted to love it.  I almost didn’t want to put it on because yellow polishes usually look horrendous on me and I didn’t want to be disappointed.  Much to my surprise, Bea works with my skin tone and is a lovely color.  I had to use two coats, but you could make Bea work with just one if you’re really great at painting your nails.

Bea

Bea

Bea

Bea

Next is Francis, a celery green creme.  I fell in love with Francis at first sight online, but when I started applying it I wasn’t sure about it.  In the beginning it reminded me of pea soup, but once I had two good coats on, I fell for Francis all over again.  I wouldn’t call it a celery color, but it’s not lime green either.  Francis is really pretty and a perfect color for spring or summer.

Francis

Francis

Francis

Francis

Next is Lacey, a midnight blue with purple shimmer.  Let me tell you guys, this polish is absolutely gorgeous.  The shimmer makes it stand out more than just a regular dark blue polish.  Another awesome thing about Lacey is that it did not stain my nails like so many other blue polishes do, and it didn’t smear too badly when I removed it.  Love, love love it.

Lacey

Lacey

Lacey

Lacey

Then there’s Sylvia, a lilac purple creme.  I only had to use one coat of Sylvia too.  This beautiful purple is a great transition color for fall.  Please forgive my camera for not being able to capture the true color.  Sylvia is so much more stunning in person (and a lot less blue).  The picture with the bottle is most accurate to the true color.

Sylvia

Sylvia

Sylvia

Sylvia

And last but certainly not least is Fiore, an espresso brown creme.  Fiore is beautiful and I’m very pleased as this is my first brown polish.  I only had to use one coat and the color is excellent.  It’s not too dark and would make a lovely color for fall.

Fiore

Fiore

Fiore

Fiore

You can purchase the Garden Party polishes and beauty products on Julep’s website.  If you want to become a Maven and receive a wonderful box every month, please use my referral link to sign up.  You’ll get a monthly box for $19.99 (shipping is free), plus 20% off regularly priced products.

Did you love the Garden Party collection as much as I did? Which polishes are your favorites? Would you like to try any of the beauty products featured this month? I’d love to hear from you in the comments!

One thought on “Julep Maven August Box

  1. Pingback: Burt’s Bees Lemon Butter Cuticle Cream | Cheeseburgers & Nail Polish

Leave a Reply

