Food Review: Udi’s Gluten Free Bread

Today I had the most amazing breakfast.  I made a plate with cheesy eggs, bacon, fresh raspberries and gluten free toast.  I hadn’t planned on reviewing the bread, but it was just so surprisingly good that I decided to get the word out.

This morning’s breakfast; please excuse the nibble from the toast!

This week I have been eating Cinnamon Chex and yogurt, but I decided I missed having a good eggs and bacon breakfast.  Yesterday I went to Earth Fare in Greensboro and picked up some Udi’s Gluten Free Bread to include with my breakfast.  I had heard of Udi’s before and was told that it was top-notch as far as gluten free products are concerned.  Having never tried gluten free bread, I was pretty nervous about how it would taste, but also about the texture.  I have a thing about food textures– I don’t care how good it tastes, if the texture isn’t pleasant, I’m spitting it out.

When I opened the bread I immediately noticed that it wasn’t soft like most regular breads, but it had a pleasing aroma.  I popped a piece into my toaster and it came out nice and crispy.  I applied a thin layer of margarine and the bread soaked it up, which is a lot more than I can say for some regular breads I’ve toasted in the past.

The first bite was absolutely delicious.  This bread has a great flavor, as well as texture.  It wasn’t crumbly and it tasted very fresh, despite its not-so-soft feel.  The grains around the crust added some interest to the texture.  In my opinion, it tasted close to a homemade wheat bread.  It was extremely satisfying.

Udi’s Gluten Free Bread, Millet-Chia variety

Inside the package

Even my babies Grumpy (who’s in the middle of asking for a treat) and Daisy were curious…

“Mommy, can we have some Udi’s too?”

I give the Udi’s Gluten Free Bread (Millet-Chia) an A+.  Even though I don’t have anything to compare it to, the bread was completely satisfying to me.  The texture and taste combined make a lovely bread that I couldn’t even tell was gluten free.  This bread rivals the Nature’s Own Honey Wheat I’ve been eating for years!  If you’re looking for a great new gluten free bread, please try Udi’s.  I promise, it’s worth it!

If you’re interested in learning more about Udi’s Gluten Free Foods, please visit their website at http://udisglutenfree.com/

One thought on “Food Review: Udi’s Gluten Free Bread

Leave a Reply

