Food Review: Firebirds

Today I’m sharing my experience at one of my favorite nice restaurants: Firebirds in Winston-Salem, NC.  Chris and I decided to try it out a few months ago and we loved it.  We go occasionally when I’m craving a good steak.  This visit was during the first week of December.  My apologies for not remembering the exact date.

Decor

Firebirds reminds me of a winter home in Aspen.  The inside has dark wood and low lighting to create a warm, intimate atmosphere.  Outside there is a patio with a fireplace and I often see groups of friends and couples outside enjoying a glass of wine.  Speaking of wine, a focal point of the interior design is a huge shelf housing wine bottles.  This makes for an upscale feel and adds interest to the room.  It’s one of my favorite things about the restaurant.  While the design is simple, all of the elements work together to make the restaurant a cozy place to dine.

Rating: A+

Service

You expect great service from a restaurant on this scale, and Firebirds does not disappoint.  Each time I’ve eaten here, the service has been impeccable.

On this particular visit, our waitress was very personable.  She had brief conversations with us but did not intrude on our meal.  She was also attentive and made excellent suggestions.  One thing I really appreciated was her wine suggestion.  She offered samples of a new wine (Greystone Cellars Cabernet Sauvignon) and did a great job of explaining the flavor.  I took her up on this offer and ordered a glass to go with my filet.  The wine paired beautifully with the steak and I was very impressed with her expertise.

Rating: A+

Food

Firebirds offers a bread service while you wait for your meal.  The bread is served warm with creamy butter.

Bread service

Bread service

The bread has a nice, light flavor and a crispy texture.  On this visit, it was a little too crunchy for me, so I only had a small piece.

Chris ordered his favorite, the Spinach Salad (Spinach, mushrooms, tomatoes, eggs, applewood-smoked bacon, balsamic vinaigrette….$9.35).  There is also an option to add Chicken, Salmon, Tenderloin, or Seared Tuna to the salad.  Chris usually skips this option because the greens by themselves are great.

Spinach Salad

Spinach Salad

The spinach is shredded and the other ingredients are nestled into the bed of greens and balsamic vinaigrette is thoroughly mixed throughout.  The eggs decorate the outside of the plate.  Chris always enjoys this salad because all of the ingredients together create a harmonious flavor.  The spinach is fresh and has a great texture and the balsamic vinaigrette really makes the meal.  I’m not much of a salad person, but I tried this salad and loved it.  I would definitely eat it again (which is something I don’t say often about salads).

I ordered the Bleu Cheese Filet (Our bacon wrapped wood grilled filet topped with bleu cheese sauce and port mushrooms….$26.95).  I do not like mushrooms, so I asked if I could just have the port sauce.  The kitchen was able to accommodate this request and I was delighted because I absolutely love the flavor of the port sauce with the bleu cheese.

Bleu Cheese Filet

Bleu Cheese Filet with Port Sauce (left) and Bleu Cheese Sauce (right).  Please excuse the camera angle.

For my side I had the Loaded Colorado Russet Baked Potato.  Since I ordered my filet medium-well, it was butterflied to reduce cooking time.  The filet was tender and juicy and the bleu cheese sauce was creamy and flavorful.  The port sauce was delicious as always and married well with the bleu cheese.  The potato was perfectly baked and had a nice consistency, and the toppings were wonderful.  I love that there is coarse-ground salt on the potato skin.  This enhances the flavor and is great if you like to eat the skin.  The only way I would improve the potato is by adding more sour cream.  The filet is a great gluten-free meal if you exclude the sauces.

For dessert, we had the Creme Brulee Cheesecake ($7).

Creme Brulee Cheesecake

Creme Brulee Cheesecake

The cheesecake was very creamy and the Creme Brulee on the top added a satisfying crunch.  The plate was garnished with a delicious raspberry sauce and fresh fruit.  If you’re looking for a fluffy, creamy dessert to finish your meal, I definitely recommend this cheesecake.

Rating: A

Firebirds is a great place to take a date or dine with friends.  The warm atmosphere, excellent service and delicious food will not disappoint.  I recommend ordering wine to go with your meal, and if you don’t know wines, no problem.  The wait staff is great at making recommendations that are sure to pair perfectly with your meal.

Overall Rating: A+

Chris and I visited Firebirds located at 1215 Creekshire Court in Winston-Salem, NC.  For more information about Firebirds and to find a location near you, please visit their website at http://www.firebirdsrestaurants.com/.

Leave a Reply

