Super Bowl OPI Style!

Happy Super Bowl Eve to all! Even though my team (the Packers) didn’t make it to the Super Bowl this year, I’m still excited to watch the game, enjoy the commercials and eat delicious food.

Earlier this week I saw this awesome idea for a manicure posted on OPI’s Facebook.  I knew immediately that I wanted to do it.

opimanibowl

I’m cheering for the Ravens this year, so I decided to deck my nails out in black, purple and gold.  I already had Black Onyx and Goldeneye, so I ran to Ulta to pick up a purple polish.  Pamplona Purple isn’t close to the Ravens purple so I searched the racks of OPI polish for a closer color.  I couldn’t find an OPI purple that would do the trick, so I ended up getting China Glaze Coconut Kiss.  It worked wonderfully and is much closer to the Ravens color than the polish suggested by OPI.  I’m sorry that I couldn’t do a full OPI mani, but I’m happy with the way it turned out.

OPI Mani Bowl polishes(From left to right)Black Onyx, China Glaze Coconut Kiss and Goldeneye

OPI Mani Bowl polishes
(From left to right)
Black Onyx, China Glaze Coconut Kiss and Goldeneye

I’m horrible at nail art, so unfortunately I couldn’t get super fancy with this manicure.  I just did three purple nails, one black accent nail and one gold accent nail.  I love the color combo on my fingers!  I must also say that Goldeneye is a beautiful color.  I bought it when the Skyfall collection first debuted and it was sitting in my box of untried polishes.  I’ve been waiting for an occasion to use it so I’m glad I happened across the Mani Bowl! I’m very pleased with the formula and I only had to apply two coats because it has great coverage.

I’m also excited about Coconut Kiss because it’s my first China Glaze polish! When I opened the bottle I was worried about the brush.  OPI polishes have a wide brush that makes it easier for me to apply the polish.  The China Glaze brush is long and skinny.  I was happy to find out that the polish went on smoothly and the brush provided good coverage.  I used two coats of Coconut Kiss for this manicure.

In case you were wondering, Black Onyx is one of the best black polishes I’ve ever used, which is saying a lot (oh hello gothic high school days!).  It applies smoothly and is opaque in one coat, but I used two because I wanted a darker black.

Below are the pictures of my mani.  I used OPI Chip Skip and one coat of Seche Vite on all nails.

100_0041 100_0043 100_0048 100_0049 100_0050

So, are you watching the game? Who are you cheering for? Would you like to participate in the OPI Mani Bowl? I’d love to hear your responses in the comments!

Leave a Reply

