Sinful Shine Swatches & Review

Happy Sunday and Happy Mother’s Day to all of my wonderful readers! I hope everyone has had a nice, relaxing weekend.  I start my new job at BB&T tomorrow so I’m very excited! I have to decide what neutral color to wear on my nails.

Today I want to show you some new polishes from Sinful Colors.  These new polishes are called Sinful Shine and have Gel Tech to make them super shiny.  This is the first time I’ve ever used a Sinful Colors polish.  I spotted these at Walgreens and picked them up because I’m always trying to find budget nail polishes that perform as well as the professional brands.  I’ve heard good things about Sinful Colors, so I decided these would be a good buy.

First up is Sinful Shine in Mardi Gras.

Sinful Shine in Mardis Gras, without a top coat

Sinful Shine in Mardi Gras, without a top coat

The above picture shows this polish without a top coat, so you can see how shiny the polishes are on their own.  Mardi Gras looked like a peachy-coral color in the bottle, but was a brighter orange once I put it on.  At first I didn’t like the color, but it grew on me.  It also toned down some after a day or so of wear.

I did have some issues with the formula.  It was thick and took forever to dry.  I waited 20 minutes between coats (I only applied 2 coats) and 40 minutes before putting on my top coat.  The polish wasn’t completely dry so the top coat dragged some of the color, creating little bald spots.  If you’re going to use Mardi Gras, make sure to give it plenty of time to dry before you use your hands.

Mardi Gras with Julep Freedom Polymer Top Coat

Mardi Gras with Julep Freedom Polymer Top Coat

With Julep Freedom Polymer Top Coat

With Julep Freedom Polymer Top Coat

I used Julep Freedom Polymer Top Coat to give the polish a little extra shine and protection (this top coat performs like a gel; you can read my review of it here).  I wore Mardi Gras for 3 days and had no tip wear or chips, only the small imperfections caused by applying the top coat when the polish was still wet.

I also picked up Sinful Shine in My Kryptonite.  A couple of weeks ago I saw a girl in a restaurant wearing a color similar to this and I knew I had to have it.  When I saw My Kryptonite, I grabbed it up! This is a beautiful deep jade green color.

Sinful Colors in My Kryptonite, in natural light

Sinful Colors in My Kryptonite, in natural light

I had the hardest time photographing this color! When I first used my digital camera to take pictures, it would only pick up the blue tones so this color looked completely different.  My cell phone did a slightly better job of capturing this gorgeous green, but you have to see the color in person to truly understand how amazing it is.

I did not have any trouble with the formula of My Kryptonite.  I waited 20 minutes before applying the second coat and 30 minutes before applying the Freedom Polymer Top Coat.  The polish was dry enough so the top coat didn’t drag it this time.

My Kryptonite photographed at night

My Kryptonite photographed at night

My Kryptonite chipped on day two of wear, but that’s because I did some major cleaning while wearing it.  It was still super shiny though, which is more than I can say for some polishes.

Overall I really enjoyed using these Sinful Shine polishes and I’ll definitely be buying more.  They’re a steal for $2.99 because they’re very shiny and have great wear time.  Sinful Shine is available at your local Walgreens.

Leave a Reply

